#czech

by Melissa

DSC02926

Prague is a magical city filled with gold topped cathedrals, fairytale castles, John Lennon graffiti and statue-lined bridges over a swan-filled river. Upon leaving for Prague my expectations were low; I was unsure of what to expect. Through word-of-mouth and pictures skewed across my Facebook from friends who have gone, I was convinced to take a trip to the Czech Republic myself to see if this magic city was truly magical. And folks, you can tell others you heard it from me; Prague is one of the most beautiful and magical cities I have ever been to (and lately I’ve been to a lot of cities). Prague is maybe my favorite place I have visited while studying abroad.
To the massive Wenceslas Square with the the National Museum of Prague flanking one side to Old Town Square which holds the Astronomical Clock, Tyn Cathedral, Jan Hus monument and St. Nicholas Church to across the statue lined Charles Bridge where you will find the graffiti covered wall memorialized to the John Lennon to the hill top Prague Castle, which is the oldest ancient castle in the world with St. Vitus cathedral filled with breath-taking stained glass and amazing views of the red-roofed city of Prague, I can indeed say this city feels like a fairytale world.

DSC02691The National Museum of Prague in Wencesles Square

DSC02710Astronomical Clock in Old Town Square

DSC02712Tyn Cathedral

DSC02724Jan Hus Monument

DSC02746From inside St. Nicholas Church

DSC02820  View of Prague Castle

DSC02824Ashley and I next to the Charles Bridge

DSC02828The Charles Bridge

IMG_1779John Lennon Wall

DSC02845“Let It Be”

IMG_1773St. Vitus Cathedral in Prague Castle

DSC02922Stunning stained glass in St. Vitus

IMG_1713
If you ever get the chance to travel to Prague, jump on that chance. The atmosphere, the genuine people, the stunning architecture, the cobble stone streets  and the delicious food are just a few of the reasons that make this city so magical.

