Turkey Day

by Melissa

The fact that this Thursday is Thanksgiving has caught me completely off guard. Maybe it’s the fact that it is still 65 degrees here in Rome or maybe it’s knowing that I am in a country that does not even know about,care about, or celebrate my most beloved holiday, which you could say is a little depressing. Missing out on all of the holiday festivities like the laughing around the dinner table, watching Home Alone for the millionth time and feeling the warmth and love from the family that surrounds you on this day is something I truly cherish every year. Also thinking about the turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, sweet potatoes, apple pie, pumpkin pie and  of course the veuve clicquot makes me wish I could transport to American for just one day. But because no genius has invented some super cool transporter-thingy yet, I will be spending my Thanksgiving here in Rome, which I  am truly grateful for. But because I will not have a real thanksgiving I will be living vicariously though some memories of my last Thanksgiving spent with friends and family.



Studying abroad the past 3 months makes me realize what I am truly grateful for. I am grateful to have such an amazing experience I will cherish the rest of my life. I am thankful for my friends, that even 5000 miles apart make me laugh when I’m upset. I am incredibly thankful for my family’s love and support every minute of the day. I am truly thankful for my mom, who, without I would not be strong enough to take on such a big adventure without her. Lastly I am thankful for all of my friends and families health and happiness.

What are you thankful for this year?

