Sunday Mass

by Melissa

I know it may come as a shock to some people but I had never been to mass before going to the Vatican last Sunday morning. Although I was baptized as a baby, that was the beginning and the end to my religious life. The Sunday mass in St. Peter’s Basilica is held all in Italian not like it mattered, no matter what language the mass was held in I would still be lost.The beauty of the Italian language and the incredible setting of St. Peter’s made this experience like no other. The ritual of the mass echoing through the chapel and the beautiful singing choir made this first time experience one I will never forget.
Every Sunday at noon, Pope Benedict  XVI appears in a window above St. Peter’s square to bless all the people who have gathered to hear his prayer. And now I can say I was lucky enough to be blessed by the Pope himself.

